SR-22 Auto Insurance in Arizona
Financial Responsibility Insurance (SR-22/SR22), helps monitor drivers with poor driving records by ensuring that they have car insurance. You may be required to purchase SR-22 insurance and file an SR-22 certificate if you:
- Have several traffic violations on your record.
- Have several insurance violations.
- Have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked.
Your car insurance company can file an SR-22 certificate with the State of Arizona on your behalf.
Determining Your Car Insurance Premium
When shopping for insurance, remember that Arizona car insurance companies can use the following factors to determine your when shopping for car insurance quotes:
- Driving record
- Marital status
- Your car’s make and model
- Your average mileage
- Credit history
- The types of optional car insurance you purchase
- Your deductible (out-of-pocket expenses you must pay towards a claim)
- The higher your deductible, the lower your premium
Arizona Car Insurance Discounts
One way to get affordable car insurance rates is to take advantage of any discounts for which you are eligible. When making car insurance comparisons, ask about the following standard discounts:
- Good driver discount.
- Good student discount.
- Multi-car discount.
- Homeowner’s discount.
- Defensive driver discount.
- This is usually afforded to seniors after taking a defensive driving course.
- Anti-theft device.
- Safety device.
While discounts are a great way to get low-cost car insurance, your best bet for affordable Arizona car insurance rates is to maintain a clean driving record. Obey traffic laws and drive safely to get the best possible rates.
Arizona Car Insurance Requirements
To comply with Arizona Insurance Laws, you are required to maintain liability insurance and property damage on your automobile insurance.
Liability insurance helps cover your costs associated with injuries and property damage to others resulting from a car accident you cause.
As of July 1, 2020, the Arizona State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Limits are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage
The State of Arizona monitors your car insurance status by checking vehicle identification numbers (VIN) to ensure each vehicle carries the Arizona Mandatory Car Insurance Limits. Don’t be caught off guard. The State of Arizona will suspend drivers licenses and vehicle registrations on those motorists without the State Minimum Limits.